Dominica Universities - Dominica Medical Schools

The Commonwealth of Dominica is a beautiful English speaking island located in the eastern Caribbean and is the most northerly and largest of the Windward Islands. Predominantly a lush mountainous island, Dominica is a considered an model ecosystem, with an abundance of flora and fauna, and a well preserved natural environment.

Dominica education system is well developed, equipped with national advanced level education facilities to locals and non-residents. However, in the last few decades, Dominica advantageous location, and its affordable cost of living, has attracted non national interest and investments in the education sector. As of 2009, two international (Dominica) universities have established tertiary level education facilities in Dominica; in both cases the courses at these Dominica universities are medical school courses. These two medical schools in Dominica are of both economic and educational value to Dominica. Image

In total, there are three main Dominica universities on the island: the Ross University School of Medicine, the University of The West Indies (UWI) and the All Saints University. The Ross University and the All Saints Medical School are both medical schools (part of a larger Caribbean medical school base). These are part of the growing Caribbean universities.

ROSS University School of Medicine founded in 1978, is located in Portsmouth Dominica. This university in Dominica is considered a major economic booster for its Dominica and the more immediate locale of Portsmouth. Since, the Ross University has established another campus on the island of St. Kitts. The Ross University, Dominica, enrolls classes three times a year. The Ross University program is a four year program, after which students move on to a pre-clinical fifth year semester in the United States.

The more recently established (Dominica university) medical school is the All Saints University. This Dominica university is currently (but temporarily) located in the capital of Dominica, Roseau; however plans are on their way to move the school to a permanent campus in the south of the island in an area called Grandbay. The All Saints University one of Dominica medical schools is recognized and chartered by the Government of the Commonwealth of Dominica. The All Saints University is authorized to confer an M.D. degree upon its graduates after successful completion.

Dominica offers a wonderful pathway to acquiring a second nationality via Economic Citizenship and Dominica Citizenship by Investment Programs. Dominica has wonderful investment opportunities and tailored its citizenship program to cater to families consisting of married couples and children, as well as single applicants. Dual nationality is considered a necessity these days and helps to improve life opportunities. International investors with a second passport benefit tremendously from being able to enter alternative markets without having to go through burdensome visa application requirements. They also enjoy the benefits of more real estate options where a second home can be established, and the possibility of more private multijurisdictional tax and estate planning. Second citizenships encourage freer travel which is an important factor in entrepreneurship in various regions, in particular the OECS and Caricom regions where lovely beaches and pristine forests have a lot of potential.

To learn more about Dominica offshore trusts and companies, don’t hesitate to contact us. We also promote second citizenship programs in various tax shelters that are peaceful, socially and politically stable.

The University of the West Indies (UWI) is not a medical school but is a renowned and very well established Caribbean university, and the UWI institution is highly accredited and well recognized in the world. UWI as it is more commonly referred to as a self governing regional institution supported by and serving sixteen (16) English speaking countries. The Caribbean university has three major campuses, and University centers or open campuses in the other 13 countries, all countries are members of the Commonwealth of Nations.

In Dominica the UWI School of Continuing Studies is located on the outskirts of the capital, near the landmark Botanical Gardens. Though the Dominica branch of UWI is not one of their major campuses, the UWI Dominica University center offers many courses and degrees in its current curriculum. The Dominica university center courses cater are specifically for Dominica university residents, and include a heavy night program to engage the working class residents.

For a great time in Dominica while on visit, Fusion Village is a must. It is located in the capital of Roseau and comprises a wooden cottage and a beautifully designed restaurant. Fusion Village Restaurant offers a great combination of local and European tastes and thus offers a great cultural experience, Great Restaurant in Roseau.

The three Dominica universities serve Dominica in many way, by first enhancing the education levels and facilities/opportunities on the island, as well as being a major form of economic growth and stimuli for Dominica.